Imminent Collapse

I ask the universe questions

It never answers back.

Same old situation

Like a worm burrowing through my skull.

Into the rabid electrical storm of my altered brain 

Like a trigger seeking a finger.

A nagging gnawing at the edge of a frozen soul

Dressed in darkness, walking black hole

Maw that consumes anything it can

Seeking some long lost sensation

Aching to be found.

Words fall slowly like flakes of snow

Only to hit the ground & melt away

Like they weren’t there at all.

Trudging uphill to a wandering destination

Like a distant mountain it never gets closer

But moves from hill to hill to cliff

Skeleton fever, exhausted insomnia.

Seasonal depression, failure’s fatigue

They all call me lazy ‘cause my work won’t sell

Everything is hazy like a smokestack in hell.

The music is over.

The band is either too drunk or too sober.

I’m tired of trying & lying & putting plans together

If you’d rather be alone go home.

Gazing at the floor, getting high

Thoughts flash through empty eyes

Intrusive ghosts of suicide

That place a revolver

Against my temple & paint my last masterpiece all over the walls.

I don’t want to die but I can’t trust my own mind.

Instead maybe I’ll slam home a hit

In my mainline, maybe it’ll change my mind

For a little bit of time so I can forget

I’m in my thirties & paying an ever growing debt

To the God of Dreams.

-Jack Blare 2023

Leave a comment